Board of Health


Board of Health

Harrison County – Board of Health and BOH Meetings

After the Pandemic Influenza outbreak of 1918, Ohio lawmakers adopted legislation forming health districts in each county. This legislation was based on observations that organized and effective public health departments could improve the health outcomes in communities during the flu.

The Harrison County General Health District is governed by a five member Board of Health and day-to-day functions are carried out by the Health Commissioner and Health District Administrator. The Board has the authority to adopt rules, regulations and resolutions, which have the same status as law.

Board members are appointed to five-year, overlapping terms and at least one member must be a physician. Board members are chosen by the Harrison County District Advisory Council. The advisory council is composed of the chairman of each township’s board of trustees or a designee, the mayor of each village and the president of the Harrison County Commissioners. The Advisory Council meets annually in March.

MEETINGS – Third Thursday @ 1pm

The Board of Health meets regularly at the Health Department Office, 538 N. Main Street, Cadiz OH (Harrison County Government Center), typically on the third Thursday of each month at 1:00 PM. These meetings are open to the public.  If you would like to attend a meeting in person, please call in advance to confirm the date of the next meeting. You should also call in advance to be placed on the meeting agenda if you wish to participate publicly. 740-942-2616

BOH Members

Jayn Devney – President
Dr. Scott Pendleton DVM – President Pro Tempore
Dr. Dan Jones – Board Member
Kent Murray – Board Member
Melissa Powers – Board Member

Click to access past Board of Health Monthly Meeting Minutes

Links & Downloadable Resources